My favourite places to eat in Covent Garden

I don’t know about you, but I always plan my trips around food. I tend to visit London about three or four times a year, and every time I do I find I have a long list of places I’m desperate to try. But despite always wanting to explore new options, I few I have a few trusty places I always come back to. So, without further ado, these are my favourite places to eat in Covent Garden.

1. Grind

Grind is most well-known as a coffee chain in London, but they also do brilliant food! I visited their most well-known location in Shoreditch, but there’s a few dotted around and there happens to be one in Covent Garden! Grind is definitely worth checking out if you’re looking for an insta-worthy meal and atmosphere!

2. Kingly Court

One of the best places to check out in London is Carnaby Street, but if you’re looking for food you have to take a stop in at its food court! Kingly Court has a great range of cuisines and – added bonus – is super pretty! I absolutely love stopping in here whenever I can and I imagine it’s a great place to spend time if you live in the area.

But I do have one particular favourite restaurant to eat at here, and that’s Dirty Bones. The fish tacos are particularly incredibly, but all the food is brilliant. The restaurant itself is a little small, and you can’t make reservations, but there’s a few other locations nearby if this branch happens to be busy.

3. Franco Manca

I have lots of friends from London who consistently rave about this place, but I had put that down to a case of ‘London superiority’. However, after checking it out with a friend I have to admit that this place is worth the hype.

The food here is pretty good value and they cater for a variety of dietary requirements, including gluten-free and vegan, so Franco Manca is a great for those with more limited options.

4. Udderlicious

Obviously this isn’t a place for a big meal, but Udderlicious deserves a mention for making my absolute favourite ice cream! They have vegan options and change their flavours every month, which normally annoys me as I’m the sort of person that likes to find a favourite and stick with it, but I don’t even mind since their flavours are all so good!

Udderlicious can be found in Seven Dials, which is such a pretty place you should definitely check out while in London.

5. Pick & Cheese

Also in this area you’ll find the Seven Dials food market. You might remember a few months ago when everyone was talking about the new Cheese Bar restaurant, and being a lover of cheese I decided to check this place out! I was a little worried that Pick & Cheese would be more about the gimmick than the food, but it was clear that the cheese was really high quality and that a lot of thought had gone into the flavour pairings. If you’re looking for a fun gourmet experience, this is definitely the place for you!

6. Le Garrick

I was a little sceptical about trying this place when my friend suggested it, as despite loving French food, being vegetarian limits my options to pretty much exclusively a goats cheese salad. Well, as you can see from the photo on the left I did indeed have the goats cheese salad, but I’m pleased to say it was one of the best I’ve had. The friend I went with ordered mussels, which she was also very impressed by. Le Garrick is a pretty small restaurant which feels lovely and cozy, and the service was brilliant. This is a great option to try out if you’re looking for somewhere a bit nicer, and I imagine it would make a great accompaniment to an evening at the theatre.

7. The Ivy

I’ve had the pleasure of eating at The Ivy a few times over the last couple of years and with the food being consistently some of the best I’ve ever eaten, there’s no doubt that the price tag’s worth it! Although on a student budget, I’m quite happy to fork out (see what I did there?) for this every once in a while. There’s a few branches of The Ivy around London and the rest of the UK, but the original and prettiest is on West Street. This is a brilliant place to go if you fancy treating yourself or are celebrating a special occasion.

_______________________________________________________________

If you fancy checking any or a few of these places out, I’ve made a google map below to help you locate them! Happy eating!

_______________________________________________________________

Pin me!


Leave a comment